So it was the summer of 2014. I had just finished work, it was about 10.30pm, although it was late it wasn’t cold, the dark blue sky was so clear that you could see the stars so far but seemed so near. The moon so big you could nearly touch it just by standing on your toes. I went to see my brother. He worked across the street from me working night shifts.

It wasn’t the first time I did that. I actually did this quite often. I felt bad just walking in front of where he was working and not even saying hi. Plus I did ocasionally get free dinner. Can’t argue with that.

This time however it was going to be different. I didn’t know that at the time but something happened that night that changed my life.

I met the love of my life.

It wasn’t anything magical like in the movies. I didn’t hear bells or feel like I was flying. I did however get butterflies in my stomach. That I did get.

You see I had seen him before that day and I did think he was attractive, he made my heart beat so fast I thought it would come out of my chest. And then there was me nothing like he was, not attractive and in my work uniform, so it’s safe to say not looking my best. His work was customer based so he was in constant contact with women. Women who looked sexy and chic and always looking good, elegant with heels so high I didn’t even know existed (how they walked on them I have no idea). Their make up on fleek the eyebrows on point and glow just right. I had no chance against all that so I left it at that.

That night however we talked in between customers and cigarette breaks. I didn’t think much of it at the time. I just thought he was being nice. That’s the kind of person he is. Never the less I was happy he’d taken time to talk to me even though he could have ignored me.

We talked for a while and things evolved. We went on a date a few months later.

Leave a Reply

